2024 Wild West Shootout Recap READ MORE

2024 Hulk Smash Deadlift Only Comp Report

January 30th, 2024
Henry Day

The 2024 powerlifting season started with a hiss and roar on a hot summer’s afternoon at Perth’s strongest and oldest powerlifting gym: Muscle Pit.

The twilight meet saw a gathering of 24 lifters, ranging in age from 14 to 65, along with a solid entourage of supporters all keen to enjoy the afternoon sun, fun and lifting action.

With the smell of BBQ sausages in the air and the refs, score desk, spotters/loaders and legendary

Emcee Adam Coe set, it was time to get CAPO Powerlifting WA’s first sanctioned comp for 2024 under way.

Women’s Section:
Kicking off the action was the events youngest competitor Kyia Day at just 14years old and weighing 47kg she managed to place 2nd in the teen division whilst pulling a national age record of 80kg on a fourth attempt.

The teen section this year was won by Shayla Winwood, daughter and training partner of veteran lifter Tania Winwood.  Shayla managed a best pull of 95kg at a 50.6kg bwt. and went agonizingly close on her fourth attempt of 100kgs.

There were 6 lifters vying for the top honours in the masters’ women’s division with Margaret Hughes (back on the platform after a lengthy absence), taking the win just ahead of Dom Soroka and Nat Hayter.  The latter two are making giant strides each meet they participate in, and I’m sure it won’t be long before they will be representing the state.

As per every year in the women’s section the Linda Millar perpetual trophy goes on the line for this event symbolizing deadlift supremacy.  In a closely fought battle the pocket rocket Tania Winwood took gold ahead of Raegan Ashplant and in doing so signaled she is nearing career best form.  Tania’s winning lift and national record of 142.5kg at 49.5kg bwt. was just short of 3 times body weight.

Raegen Ashplant is making giant strides in this sport each time she steps on to the platform.  On her way to placing second, she broke the 200kg barrier with an outstanding lift of 202.5kg moving her name amongst a very elite group of lifters that have broken that mark in this state. If Raegen can stick to this sport over the next four years, I’m predicting her name will be firmly etched into history books as one of Western Australia’s greatest powerlifters.

Stephanie Forsyth after a disrupted prep cemented third with a solid lift of 160kg and narrowly missing 170kg showed a glimpse of things to come.

Men’s Section
Michael Gilham had it all his own way in the teen division finishing with a solid 190kg lift at 81.1kg body weight.  We hope to see more of Michael as the year unfolds.

The masters’ field this year saw two lifters contest the honours.  Bobby Kinsella turned in a solid performance making all 3 lifts and finishing on a solid 190kg. However, with the age advantage Henry Day snuck in front by a whisker with his final pull of 200kg.

Now to the open men’s division where eight participants were contesting the Joe MacGowan Perpetual Trophy.  Past winner of this event and defending champion Corey Millar along with Shane Parnell coming off his 2023 Deadliest Deadlift and Bench victory were the favourites on paper going into the days lifting.  As the day progressed however Power Pit’s David Crowe made his presence felt with a solid lift of 280kg which was good enough to edge himself into second place just ahead of Corey Millar.

Corey lifting well within himself had a solid day for third place, missing no lifts.  It will be interesting as the year unfolds how his performances develop as his body composition increases.  I’m expecting some big things in the not-too-distant future.

Lifters to also impress on the day were Harry Geersen who picked up the most promising award after a lift of 220kg at 79.3kg body weight and Dwayne Smith whose enthusiasm was a crowd pleaser.

Now to the winner… Shane Parnell.  He has gone from strength to strength since finding the sport around 18 months ago.  Backing up from his breakthrough win in November he came in with no expectations and still came away with first place, the Joe MacGowan Trophy and a new national record on his fourth attempt of 331kg.  Not bad at all and I for one am eagerly awaiting what the future holds for him as his potential is enormous.

Big Thanks
The reality with all sports is if no one rolls up their sleeves and volunteers to help nothing happens – there is no event…. our sport is no different.  So, on that note I’d like to acknowledge all those that helped on the day; the refs, score desk staff, spotters/loaders, the live feed team, set up crew and those that hung about to pack up….Thank you.  A special thanks must go out to State delegate Sam Murphy and his wife Lian.  They and their team at the Power Pit have put in an endless number of hours to ensure the continued growth and raised professionalism of this sport in this state.

Event History

This event has been contested since 2016 and is one of 13 comps that CAPO Powerlifting WA will be running this year.

Past Winners:

2023 Men’s – Corey Millar

2023 Women’s – Tania Winwood

2022 Men’s – Corey Millar

2022 Women’s – Asal Sharbat Maleki

2021 Men’s – Matteo Giubilato

2021 Women’s – Annie Malard

2020 Men’s – Covid

2020 Women’s – Covid

2019 Men’s – Corey Millar

2019 Women’s – Tania Winwood

2018 Men’s – Saif Murtaza

2018 Women’s – Lucy Michon

2017 Men’s – Rait Sigor

2017 Women’s – Shirall Armstrong

2016 Men’s – Gary McCartan

2016 Women’s – Shaahni Carter

Trophy History:

The two perpetual trophies for this event are tributes to two of Western Australia’s past legends: Joe MacGowan and Linda Miller.

Joe lifted between 1978 & 1988 contesting weight division from 100kg to 125kg.  Highlights included 7 National Championships, winning bronze and silver medals at the 1981 and 1983 World Championships.  His biggest total was 935kg at 125kg body weight.

Linda’s career though brief was mind blowing!  Competing in 1982 and 1983 at body weights 67.5kg and 75kg Linda dominated the National championships before going on in 1983 to win gold at the world championships.  Her 1982 total of 455kg at 67.5kg bwt at the time was an Australian and Commonwealth world record.  The next year at 75kg she totalled 512.5kg leading to a 1984 nomination for the Caltex Sports Star of the Year.



If you’d like to know more about the sport of powerlifting and events coming up in 2024, please contact Sam Murphy on 0404106904 at the Power Pit in Rockingham or Henry Day on 0401579419 at Muscle Pit in Cannington. Alternatively, those further north can get hold of Cameron Pilapil on 0424924729 at the Power Arcade in Ellenbrook.


Go to Top